The Online Film Critics Society Award Nominations

The Online Film Critics Society (OFCS), the professional association for film journalists, scholars and historians who publish their reviews, interviews and essays exclusively or primarily in the online media, are proud to announce the nominees for their 2005 Awards.

Best Picture

Brokeback Mountain


Good Night and Good Luck

A History of Violence


Best Director

George Clooney, Good Night and Good Luck

David Cronenberg, A History of Violence

Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain

Peter Jackson, King Kong

Steven Spielberg, Munich

Best Actor

Terrence Howard, Hustle & Flow

Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain

Joaquin Phoenix, Walk The Line

Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote

David Straithairn, Good Night and Good Luck

Best Actress

Joan Allen, The Upside of Anger

Felicity Huffman, Transamerica

Keira Knightley, Pride and Prejudice

Naomi Watts, King Kong

Reese Witherspoon, Walk the Line

Best Supporting Actor

Matt Dillon, Crash

Paul Giamatti, Cinderella Man

Jake Gyllenhaal, Brokeback Mountain

William Hurt, A History of Violence

Mickey Rourke, Sin City

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams, Junebug

Maria Bello, A History of Violence

Catherine Keener, Capote

Rachel Weisz, The Constant Gardener

Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain

Best Original Screenplay

Woody Allen, Match Point

Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale

George Clooney and Grant Heslov, Good Night and Good Luck

Paul Haggis & Bobby Moresco, Crash

Jim Jarmusch, Broken Flowers

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jeffrey Caine, The Constant Gardener

Dan Futterman, Capote

Tony Kushner & Eric Roth, Munich

Larry McMurtry & Diana Ossana, Brokeback Mountain

Josh Olson, A History of Violence

Best Cinematography

Christopher Doyle, Kwan Pun Leung and Yiu-Fai Lai, 2046

Robert Elswit, Good Night and Good Luck

Emmanuel Lubezki , The New World

Rodrigo Prieto, Brokeback Mountain

Robert Rodriguez, Sin City

Best Editing

Michael Kahn, Munich

Stephen Mirrione, Good Night and Good Luck

Robert Rodriguez, Sin City

Ronald Sanders , A History of Violence

Claire Simpson, The Constant Gardener

Best Score

James Horner, The New World

James Newton Howard and Hans Zimmer, Batman Begins

James Newton Howard, King Kong

Gustavo Santaolalla, Brokeback Mountain

John Williams, Munich

Best Documentary

The Aristocrats

Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room

Grizzly Man

March of the Penguins


Best Foreign Language Films




Kung Fu Hustle


Best Animated Feature

Howl’s Moving Castle



Tim Burton’s Corpse Bride

Wallace & Gromit in The Curse of the Were-Rabbit

Breakthrough Filmmaker

Judd Apatow, The 40-Year-Old Virgin

Craig Brewer, Hustle & Flow

Paul Haggis, Crash

Bennett Miller, Capote

Joe Wright, Pride and Prejudice

Breakthrough Performer

Nathan Fillion, Serenity

Georgie Henley, The Chronicles of Narnia

Tony Jaa, Ong-Bak

Q’Orianka Kilcher, The New World

Owen Kline, The Squid and the Whale
Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society has been the key force in establishing and raising the standards for Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS membership spans the U.S., Canada, Europe, Latin America, Africa, and the Asia/Pacific Rim region, with journalists representing many of the most important online film-related sites including Salon, Slate, TV Guide Online, IndieWire, Netflix, Film Threat, and the Internet Movie Database.

The Society’s web site, which has been hosted since January 2001 by the highly influential film resource Rotten Tomatoes, provides the most comprehensive online listing of reviews and original interviews with the leading artists in today’s cinema, plus links to the most important motion picture-related web sites.

For more information, visit the Online Film Critics Society at

To see the nominees listed by title, click here.