2001 Library Of Congress Additions To The National Film Registry

Every year, the Library of Congress adds up to 25 “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant films” each year for the National Film Registry. To be eligible, films must be at least 10 years old, though they need not be feature-length or have had a theatrical release in order to be considered. The legislation’s intent is that the broadest possible range of films be eligible for consideration.

The list for 2001 includes the following titles…

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)

All That Jazz (1979)

All the King’s Men (1949)

America, America (1963)

Cologne: From the Diary of Ray and Esther (1939)

Evidence of the Film (1913)

Hoosiers (1986)

The House in the Middle (1954)

It (1927)

Jam Session (1942)

Jaws (1975)

Manhattan (1979)

Marian Anderson: The Lincoln Memorial Concert (1939)

Memphis Belle (1944)

The Miracle of Morgan’s Creek (1944)

Miss Lulu Bett (1921)

National Lampoon’s Animal House (1978)

Planet of the Apes (1968)

Rose Hobart (1936)

Serene Velocity (1970)

The Sound of Music (1965)

Stormy Weather (1943)

The Tell-Tale Heart (1953)

The Thin Blue Line (1988)

The Thing From Another World (1951)